Why did you stop writing?

Tenth

Tenth Is Tenth
Hello all,

You know the hardest part about starting this thing is what to say first.... so I'm just going to jump in.

I'm an engineer in the Silicon Valley. I live on the coast in Santa Cruz. I love living here and I hate working in San Jose. But I won't get into either of those facts yet (Or maybe never).

For a long time I wrote. I wrote all through high school, and into collage. I wrote many short stories, a whole bunch of bad angst filled teenage poetry, and was working on a novel. One day I stopped. Just about that quick. And then the drive to write was gone. But why? I look back at that stuff and a lot of the fiction still seems pretty good to me.. So why stop?

I was happy.

All through Junior High and High School I was pretty much "The Weird Smart Kid." Don't get me wrong, I had a lot of friends, but I was a pretty miserable bastard. I grew up in a pretty small town, and the people I went to high school with had known me from day one of my educational career. Some from before. Once I got to collage, no one knew me. I made new friends and had a great time. Through school I tried to write, but if I wasn't miserable I didn't like what I had written. It lacked any edge. But occasionally (like after breaking up with a Girl who will hence forth be known as Fran than for no other reason that it's a name you don't hear much any more) I'd sit down and write something I liked.

So your saying to yourself, "Why's he telling me all this now?" Well, this year had been very strange and somewhat difficult (Again for reasons I won't get into yet... how's that for a tasteless teaser) and I've been really stuck in a rut. And I've started writing again. Which is good, but it means I've been depressed, which is bad. For now I will look on the up side, which is that maybe I'll produce something worth trying to publish.