How do you call out sexist/racist/homophobic shit in rehearsal/practice/classes?

Malidog

collige grad
When people say fucked up shit or truck in stereotypes in shows or classes about historically marginalized people (people of color, LGBTQ, women, people w/disabilities), whats the most productive and effective way to handle it?

diana

Last edited:

benzado

Bachelor of Science
I'm an improv student (though it's been years since I've taken a class) and I've never coached. This is my opinion but I've got no illusions about how much I know.

I think it helps to remember that people say stupid and offensive shit because they literally do not understand what's stupid or offensive about it. When they get called out, it feels like receiving an electric shock for accidentally saying the secret word. They conclude, reasonably, that the best strategy is to simply remember those words and avoid them. And that's why so many people feel like it is censorship.

The question in the title of your post is "How do you call out sexist/racist/homophobic shit in rehearsal/practice/classes?" My guess is that you're probably doing as good a job as anybody. The problem is that calling out has severe limitations in what it can accomplish. It feels bad for everybody involved. It puts the offender on the defensive and makes him feel like a victim. I'm not saying you shouldn't do it—it's important and you should—but you should accept that it won't do much.

Improv was instrumental in helping me (a straight, cis-gendered, functionally-white guy) learn by adopting other perspectives and thinking through what it might be like to be, for example, a woman on a date in a restaurant. Granted, most scenes did not deal with the threat of my drink being roofied, but it got my head in a space that affected how I would subsequently read about those experiences.